#MomspirationMonday 💘 Meet My Momma

Yes I am British, and I know we usually say “mum” but recently I’m preferring “mom” and do not judge, it’s probably just a faze.

So, back to the post at hand here.

Happy Monday! To all of you wonderful bloggers, and all of you mommies!

Because this is the first #MomspirationMonday  I figured I’d do a little introduction first before I start inspiring others with my momma.

So, I’m 18, and my mom was one of the older mothers when she had me at the ripe age of 41. I was a little miracle baby that she and my dad had longed and wished for for an awful long time. Nevertheless they were granted with me; a gorgeous little baby girl (I wonder what the Hell happened) who they adored for years. Until I was the age of 13 my mom and I didn’t really get along very well; clash of personalities I’m sure.

I was so much like my dad; quiet, push-over, too caring, too loving, too forgiving. I was my dad’s best friend and we were inseparable up until my teen years when everything changed and my parents divorced.

This tore my whole world apart. As an only child you kind of take for granted the fact that you have two close parents who worship you. You don’t ever think they’re going to split; you think they’re forever solid.

Their divorce tore through the whole family; my step-sister couldn’t handle it, neither could my mom’s brother and his wife. For an entire year it was just my mom and I. My step brother on my dad’s side was completely out of the picture (as per) and my step-sister was wallowing in her self-pity, forgetting the fact that I’d practically lost my dad whereas he was only her step-dad she’d always treated like crap.

So, being alone with one another really brought my mom and I together. We went away for Christmas and New Year and I can honestly say I am so so thankful for the time I had alone with her during that year, as we became the best of friends; closer than I ever was and ever could have been with my dad.

We laughed together, we cried together, we bitched together, we shopped together, we held each other’s hands in scary times and fought for each other on the bad days, laughing and joking together during the good.

Now, five years later and she’s still my best friend.

She’s my mom, sister, auntie, grandma and best friend all rolled in to one.

She has the knowledge and stories every grandmother has; she has the courage, fiestiness and protection every mother has; she has the advice, tips and humour of a sister; the ears, jokes, boy-taste, fashion-sense and reliability of a best friend.

My ultimate goal in life isn’t to move to America or join the FBI or marry MGG; but instead it is to pass on the love and inspiration to my children which my own mom has given to me. If I could be even a mere shadow of the mother my own mom is, I will have fulfilled everything I was put on this earth to do.

She’s my inspiration and role model, all day – every day.

I couldn’t imagine a day when I wouldn’t have her by my side; fighting crime and heartbreak and bitchiness and sickness.

She’s the funniest, smartest, most logical, most irritating, most protective woman I know.

And I wouldn’t change her for the world.

I’m more like her now, than my dad. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I love you Jeanie, and I’m proud to call myself your daughter.

All the love in the world, forever.

*

Be proud of your mom.

She conceived you; that in itself being a huge thing let alone carrying you for nine (technically ten as rumour has it) painful months in which her body wasn’t only her own; and she went through the excruciating procedure to bring you into this life.

Instead of moaning and complaining and bitching about the actions your mother takes, why don’t you ask yourself why.

Why is she saying that?

Why is she doing that?

What happened for her to be that way?

Sympathise with your mom.

Put yourself in her shoes.

And then maybe. Just maybe. You’ll be that little bit closer.

Here’s a collection of my favourite mommy quotes and pictures. Please note that none of these pictures and quotes are mine, and my own momma doesn’t appear in any of these pictures.

“But there’s a story behind everything. How a picture got on a wall. How a scar got on your face. Sometimes the stories are simple, and sometimes they are hard and heartbreaking. But behind all your stories is always your mother’s story, because hers is where yours begin.” – Mitch Albom, For One More Day

enhanc~z_24778_1399505278_16

“The only love that I really believe in is a mother’s love for her children.” – Karl Lagerfeld

7defb18e9d8537c4aa5b0dd38973b36f

“In a child’s eyes, a mother is a goddess. She can be glorious or terrible, benevolent or filled with wrath, but she commands love either way. I am convinced that this is the greatest power in the universe.” – N.K. Jemisin, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

489290673

“But kids don’t stay with you if you do it right. It’s the one job where, the better you are, the more surely you won’t be needed in the long run.” – Barbara Kingsolver, Pigs in Heaven

canstock27125216

Much love,

B xo

Screen Shot 2015-08-16 at 14.57.49

Leave a Reply

