Fiducia Friday ♥︎ Chapter Two

Falling For You

“I wish we could be there today honey, I really do.” My mom said to me that Saturday morning.
“It’s okay, I know what surgery’s like. I’m used to it.” I shrugged as I chewed on my toast at the breakfast table.
“So understanding.” She said with a shake of her head, leaning down to kiss my forehead. I plastered a fake smile on my face as she and my dad wished me good-luck before leaving the house.

“Don’t worry sis, I’ll be there.” Andy said from opposite me.
“Woopey!” I cheered sarcastically, pushing my empty plate away from me moodily.
“So you’re nervous huh?” He guessed with a knowing smirk.
“Terrified.” I agreed with a nod of my head.

“It’ll be okay,” He said encouragingly. “You’ve been training for a fortnight straight, Hollie’s given you all the tips and there’ll be twice as many instructors there. You’ve got all of our support, Scar.” I nodded my head and sighed.

“Doesn’t help me feeling terrified though.” I said matter-of-factly, licking my lips as the front door opened.

“Hello!” Louis called out before the sound of hopping and footsteps sounded along the hall.

“Good morning.” Hollie sung, entering the kitchen closely followed by Louis.

“Hey,” I grinned, leaning up to hug her as she leaned down to me. “How’re you feeling?” I asked as Andy got out of his seat for her.
“Shouldn’t I be asking you that?” She chuckled, puffing the hair out of her face. I smirked and rolled my eyes nervously.

“You’ll be fine.” Louis sung, ruffling my hair close to my scalp.

“Okay firstly,” I said, reaching up to punch his stomach. “Ow,” Hollie, Louis and Andy all laughed as Louis doubled over. “Secondly you really gotta wrap that,” I fixed my hair and swept my fringe out of my eyes. “And thirdly I know I’ll be fine.” I scoffed.

There was silence then as the three other people in the kitchen all stared at me expectantly before bursting into laughter.

“Yeah that’s called false confidence Scar,” Andy said matter-of-factly. “But if that’s what gets you through it then who’re we to judge?”
“Exactly!” I snapped, jumping to my feet. “Anyway, shouldn’t we be going or something?” I mumbled, walking to the fridge and pulling out some energy juice.

*

By the time we got to the cliffside my stomach was doing somersaults and my hands were shaking as though they were on vibrate.
“Stay calm it’s all okay.” Hollie reassured me as a group of school friends drove in behind Andy’s car which we’d all travelled in.

“How can I stay calm when there are this many people around?” I demanded in a quiet voice, the back of my beck beginning to sweat.

“Just relax okay, it could be a whole lot worse.” Hollie said calmly as Louis rubbed my arms reassuringly.

“Worse how exactly?” I asked before the buzz of a motorcycle approaching became audible. “No. No, no, no, no, no. This isn’t happening.” I said, distressed.

“What’s up?” Andy frowned in confusion, not entirely aware of how worse the situation was just about to get. Suddenly everybody turned for the black shiny motorcycle to purr to a stop next to the small group of cars clustered not all that far from where we were huddled together.

“Who the Hell is that?!” Andy demanded as Zac Larinsones smoothly climbed off the motorcycle and strapped the helmet to the handlebars, ruffling his hair innocently with a vague expression as though nobody in the World was watching him. Whereas in reality; everyone at the cliffside were gawping at him with open mouths of awe.
“That’s Zac Larinsones,” Hollie muttered under her breath to Andy. “He’s the new Italian transfer Scarlett’s been showing around school.”
“You’ve been showing that guy around?” Andy demanded, turning to me with wide eyes.
“Ssh Andy,” I hissed, wincing at his loud volume. “And yes I have been,” I said defensively. “I didn’t really have any other choice.”
“Just be careful Scar.” Andy said randomly and I frowned at him in confusion. “Guys like that only want showed around one place, and that’s your underwear.” I groaned and rolled my eyes; my expression falling into one of disgust.

“Really Andy, you’re my brother, I could’ve gone without hearing you say that thanks.” He smirked and shrugged,
“It’s true. Just watch yourself. I don’t trust that guy as far as I can throw him.”
“Which, knowing you, wouldn’t even be to the end of your nose.” He narrowed his eyes at me as Hollie and Louis choked and tried to hide their laughter.

A fifth car pulled into the cliffside at that and a moment later a cheery voice called out,
“Scarlett, Scarlett, Scarlett!” I turned in time to see a small blonde girl running to me with an excited expression and big, bouncing pigtails.

“Hey,” I laughed, catching Louis’ little sister in my arms and swinging her around. “What’re you doing here you little Princess?” I asked as she hugged me tightly.

“I painted you a picture, look.” She said, showing me the painting in her hand.
“Wow that’s awesome,” I grinned, admiring the picture of a castle at the top of a cliff. Little Lucy was in the castle at the top while I climbed the cliffside. “I love it Lucy-Loo thank you.” I smiled broadly and kissed her cheek, her laugh filling my ears as she hugged me closer again.

“Hey Scarlett.” Louis’ mom approached along with his dad and his twin older siblings.
“Oh jeez.” Louis groaned under his breath, turning his back on his family and rubbing the back of his neck self-consciously.

“Hey what’re you guys doing here?” I asked as Lucy slid back to her feet and took my hand in her own.
“Well isn’t it obvious?” Jack asked with a mischievous grin.
“We’re here to cheer you on.” His twin-sister Stacey smiled as Jack reached forward and ruffled my hair.

“You really didn’t need to go to all of this bother, thank you.” I said politely with a smile to Louis’ parents.
“Don’t be silly, this is the least we could do. You’re doing such a fantastic thing for charity. At such short notice as well.” Louis’ dad said persistently and I smiled in thanks before Jack and Stacey broke off to speak with Andy.

“Excuse me?” An older male approached our group with an apologetic smile. “Which one of you is Scarlett Jefferson?” He asked and I raised my hand nervously. “We’re ready to get you prepped now if you’re alright with that?” He asked and a wave of nausea overcame me.

I gave a shaky laugh as my group chuckled with anticipation and excitement.

“Y-yeah I guess,” I stuttered, shrugging out of my jacket and passing it to Louis. “Well, wish me luck guys.” I said to everyone as they all turned to me with broad smiles.
“Break a leg.” Louis said with a cheeky grin.
“Yeah except don’t take that as literally as I did.” Hollie joked.
“You’ll do great. Just don’t look down.” Andy said, patting my back as I broke away from the group with a nervous little smile and followed the older man towards the cliffside where the rest of the instructors were readying everything.

*

I don’t think I’ve ever been so terrified as…….. read on to find out more

Much love, B xo
BYounique

Leave a Reply

