#ThinkAboutItThursday đź’• Tattoos – Branding or Art?

Happy Thursday beauties!

Today’s Think About It Thursday is all about different opinions and stereotypes on tattoos. Yes, I know, a very big debate despite it being the year 2015.

It’s fascinating how there’s still certain stereotypes on people with tattoos. I mean, haven’t we moved on from here? It’s like there still being racism; I thought we’d dropped that years ago. C’mon people; let’s move on already, we’re suffering desperately from Global Warming and a Global Recession and yet there’s still judging and stereotyping going on. It’s pathetic. And quite funny really.

Being someone who has tattoos and piercings; I’m a little swayed and fuelled by the whole tattoo debate. But I didn’t always have tattoos and piercings; so I’d like to think I’m not too tainted by my personal experiences (which are very few if I’m honest.)

I know that recently there’s been quite a few posts on Twitter cropping up about “the most judgemental people being those who go to Church on Sundays and the nicest people being the ones with tattoos on their skin”. Now, personally speaking, I agree with this as I myself have been judged by strict believers in religion whereas have laughed and joked with people who have 0 skin showing on their arms for tattoo inkings.

I remember being originally made aware of the big tattoo debate when I was in 4th year – so I was about 15/16. By this point I already had my first tattoo, and I covered it up most days in school to avoid any awkward or embarrassing questions from little know-it-all-brats and bitches who I just couldn’t be dealing with. That and my momma kind of insisted.

It came to writing Persuasive Essays in English and my friend April*** (who was a typical scene-kid with brightly dyed hair, pen inkings on her hands and arms every-day, tattoo-doodles in the back of every one of her books and oversized black backpacks) decided to write hers on tattoos in the workplace, and the difficulty her older boyfriend (who had a half-sleeve) had in getting a job. She wrote a fantastic essay which really detailed the stereotypes of tattoos and the conclusions people immediately jump to:

  • You’re a convict
  • You’re a criminal
  • You’re a badass
  • You’re a rebel
  • You’re a troublemaker
  • You’re a horrible person
  • You’re threatening
  • You’re intimidating
  • You’re stupid
  • You have no ambitions / prospects / potential
  • You’re worthless

When I read her essay I really realised how right she was, and how ridiculous it was that these people were being judged just for what was on their skin. I mean, isn’t it right to say that is completely cruel and incorrect and quite frankly inhumane in modern days to judge people by their skin? There is no longer (or at least there should no longer be) racism or discrimination just because of a person’s skin-colour, so why the hell doesn’t that apply to skin-markings? I mean, we don’t judge somebody by their birth-marks, whether it may be a little birth-mark barely noticeable, or a pretty visible birth-mark. Because it’s not that person’s fault that they were born that way. We shouldn’t judge people by their scars, whether self-inflicted, by-accident, or at the hands of someone else. Because we don’t know how that person came to have that scar.

However, where critics come in to play is by saying that person is not in control of their skin colour or birth mark or scar however a person is in control of skin-markings. Whether that be a piercing of their skin or an inking. One thing is certain; they made the decision to do that to their body. Therefore they should be prepared to take the outcomes of that decision.

Well that’s when I say wrong. A person shouldn’t have to deal with discrimination, racism, stereotypes or general abuse, in any way whatsoever. Underneath the skin markings, birth marks, scars, and skin colour we are all the same. We all have beating hearts and running blood; so why the freakin’ hell are we judging each other for the outsides of our skin?

To people considering a tattoo and are wondering about “the implications”, I say screw it; get it. Go do the thing you’ve always been curious about. Because at the end of the day you have to ask yourself; is it going to make me a better person? I know that my tattoos certainly did. They made me confident and happy about my body. Where I was insecure and shy before, I am now confident and proud. I wear my tattoos with pride because they show who I am and where I’ve been and what I’ve come through. Yes, okay, maybe not everybody sees that when they look at the ink on my skin; maybe they see something else entirely. But what matters is what I see when I look in the mirror. And I see me. The real me. The person who has strived for so long to be confident and beautiful, and someone who is slowly; step-by-step; getting there in her own way, by doing what she’s always wanted to do and subsequently being who she’s always wanted to be.

So whatever your opinion is on tattoos. Whether you abhor them and detest the way they look or “what they represent” (Despite the fact that nobody know what every single tattoo on a person represents and stands for) or whether you adore them and think that no matter what the tattoo, it is still beautiful; tattoos will always represent something. So next time you’re going to comment on a tattoo, ask yourself this; will my words really change anything? Because if not; don’t say a goddamn thing.

Stay beautiful, stay happy, stay proud.
Much love, B xo
BYounique

Leave a Reply

