Boots Haul 💝 No7 Review

We meet again my beauties!

As aforementioned in my Primark Haul article, I went on a shopping spree on Monday and hit Primark and Boots big time. 

I’ve had several items on my wish list for a while now, and when I finally got paid I decided to throw caution to the wind and treat myself – it’s been a tough summer so what the hell.

IMG_6372

l-r: Boots' Smooth Care Washable Warm Wax Roll On for Sensitive Skin; Boots' Smooth Care Facial Wax Strips for Sensitive Skin; No7 Soft & Soothed Gentle Cleanser; No7 Airbrush Away primer; No7 Airbrush Away Foundation; No7 Instant Radiance Under-Eye Concealer; Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara; Rimmel London 60Seconds Super Shine Nail Polish; Rimmel Scandaleyes Eyeliner Mico Precision Pen; Boots Essentials' Moisturising Cleansing Wipes for dry skin.

Now yes this bundle did cost a pretty penny; but that price was so worth it as I’ve been longing for / needing this for a while now. I use the No7 gentle cleanser every day to remove my make up instead of using wipes, and I use the Boots Essentials wipes for the likes of wiping foundation of the back of my hand, removing excess eyeshadow from under my eyes ect. I’ve used the No7 under-eye concealer for years now and I always wear black nail polish; so these were really essentials.

As for the waxing products, a review will be coming super soon (and when I post it, the link will be attached to ‘super soon’.) as I’m spending way too much money on having a beautician wax my chin, upper lip and eyebrows, I just can’t afford to have her continually messing up my face because there’s nobody else I trust or like.

Now, onto the real reviews here.

I caught an Instagram post a while back with the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara and I thought it looked pretty good. On Monday I’d run out of mascara and so I thought this would be the perfect time to try it out. Well, that was the best decision of my life. Usually I use Collection 2000’s No Clumps Mascara which costs like £2.99, so upping it to Maybelline’s £7.99 was a bit of a jump; but completely worth it. This mascara looks absolutely fantastic; it really does what it says on the tube. It volumises your lashes to make them look longer and thicker and as though you have more, giving you that almost-fake look but still in a natural way without having to wear falses. The only thing is, that it dries super fast which means it kind of clumps your eyelashes together. I get around this by curling my eyelashes before I apply the mascara, and then immediately afterwards I comb through my lashes with an eyebrow brush (the plastic side rather than the bristles side) and viola, perfect lashes with only 1 coat of mascara!

I also wanted to try out one of Maybelline’s gel eyeliner pens but unforunately it isn’t available in the UK so instead I tried Rimmel’s Scandaleyes liner pen in micro precision. Again, I usually use Collection 2000’s extreme gel liner pen at about £2.99 so the £5.49 jump was a jump I wish I’d taken long before now. This eyeliner really does what it claims and is so thin and precise I’m wondering how I managed eyeliner without it.IMG_6368

No7 just celebrated their 80th birthday and so to celebrate they released a new foundation called “Airbrush Away”. This foundation doesn’t include SPF and comes in a small dropper-bottle.


IMG_6443IMG_6440

Don't be put off by it's size - there's still 30ml in the bottle which is the exact same amount as the other No7 foundations - and most apparently - .

I was apprehensive at first to use this foundation as No7’s foundations have been drying me out for a while. But, when paired with the No7 Airbrush Away primer; this foundation just glides over the skin. Once dried on the skin it feels like powder almost, and gives a completely flawless look and feel. However, the colour of the foundation does appear to be lighter than the other No7 foundations. For instance I’m usually Calico (after being scanned with the match-maker) however this foundation in the shade Calico is a little lighter than normal. But this doesn’t bother me at all as this means I can use it when I’m not wearing fake tan – which recently is more and more.

IMG_6434

Now onto the Airbrush Away Primer. This little baby is a beauty that has me wondering why I never used it before. It feels so rich and velvety on your skin, giving a beautiful moisturising feel, smell and finish to your skin; completely setting your skin up for a beautiful finish, regardless to the foundation you’re using on top.

All in all I’d rate the primer a 4/5 and the foundation a 3.5/5; I’ll be updating with longevity tonight; so check back on this post later for the full rate.

IMG_6446 IMG_6453

*2hrs After Application*
Okay, so I’ve just been on a driving lesson (i.e. sweating buckets because it’s so nerve-wracking lol) and I’ve come home to find my face still totally intact. My makeup isn’t running, my skin isn’t shiny, my eyebrows are still in place; my blushing cheeks (I have quite bad red skin) isn’t showing at all; all-in-all it’s as though I’ve just done my makeup and haven’t broken a sweat whatsoever. Yay, I’m really really loving this so far.
*6hrs After Application*
So I’ve done everything I’ve had to have done today and now it’s time to take my makeup off. I’m pleased with this because throughout the day it felt as though I was getting a little clogged around about my nose and upper lip. It felt almost cracky. But I personally blame this for my rushed application and super dry skin at the mo, so don’t let this put you off.

I do still recommend these products as I think they’re rather fab.

I hope this post has helped you, let me know what you’d like me to check out.
Much love, B xo
BYounique

Leave a Reply

